An invite to the Indiependent Community

It's time for a refresh!

18 months ago I started a community out of frustration: I was connected to so many people, but I wasn’t able to make deeper connections.

It felt fake and superficial.

So I started a paid community which had a requirement to participate or get booted. I wanted to make better virtual friends. I wanted us to properly help each other. I wanted to remove away from the unhelpful and superficial advice out there. I wanted to step away from the vanity of social media engagement.

I wanted to build in community, not in public.

Some people were surprised at the idea of removing people, but since I started this I’ve seen a few communities adopt similar philosophies. It’s worked great for us. I’ve made better friends from a group of 40 active people than I have from being and leading community with many thousands of people.

🎉 But it’s time for a change!

We’ve switched platforms and we’re opening it up as a freemium community. This means you can join for free, but some aspects remain for paid members.

We’re still keeping the focus on closer relationships and we are definitely being super strict with moderation around self promotion, but I also want to encourage people in to explore and share how we can live Indiependently. I’ve been living this way for over 15 years and I’d love to help more people live this kind of life.

I hope you’ll join us.

I will be moderating this invite link and limiting the numbers. If it shows as expired, try again a bit later. 🙃