• Indiependent
  • Posts
  • ⚽️ I'm playing multiple games at the same time

⚽️ I'm playing multiple games at the same time

I've never been big into football, I only pay some attention during World Cups. However, over time I realise I’ve become less interested. As the greed, the lack of ethics and the damage to the environment continues to be put to one side.

The recent women’s World Cup has changed me. I only got to watch the final and the emotions we real. It wasn’t just about football though. And it wasn’t just about supporting my home country. This was different.

It’s campaigning for equity that we deserve.

It’s feeling the pain that women’s football never existed when I was young.

It’s the awe to see great role models and how awesomely fit they are.

It’s the joy of feeling hope of true diversity for our future generations. That my girls may truly have better options available for them.

It’s understanding that women can, do and will bring something else to the table. We can bring different vibes that help balance our world.

Women’s Football is something we should’ve had a very long time ago. It’s exciting that it is here now. It also hurts so much that it has taken this long.

These same feelings apply to me in the ‘founder world’ too.

I’m tired and I am not interested in greed, the lack of ethics and the damage to our planet.

It’s not about creating a ‘Women’s Founders World Cup’. It’s not even about creating a ‘women’s anything’. It’s about fighting for equity for all of us, the people and the planet.

Indiependent for me isn’t just about gathering founders. It’s about exploring things in a different way. The anti-hustle. The caring for one another. The doing things that actually matter. The chilling out enjoy life too.

It’s about exploring equity whilst also building a business. It’s taking on those two roles, which makes it all the more draining and consuming for people like me. Most people won’t give these things a second thought, but there are many of us doing the work to create the change.

The work is often invisible. Or it shows up in the choices and sacrifices we make every day. It shows in the people we work with. It shows up when we push back and so no.

It is then amplified with what we choose to do with our successes.