The Forrest Gump Model

Sometimes I feel like Forrest Gump.

I wrote the below tweet on the spur of the moment, and then I felt like I had to keep on writing. And so I did. The post was a bit longer than the original.

Every time I do something like this, I end up thinking of Forrest Gump. He had the urge to run, and then he just kept running.

Kept Running, Forrest Gump - DizRuns.com

I had the urge to write, and I just kept writing. Whilst I published one piece yesterday, it’s led to more writing. (Like what I’m writing now. 😂)

We often wait for the right moment, but the moments are there for the taking. A spark of an idea to action or take note of straight away. The willingness to sit down and do the work. And the openmindedness of exploring and trust that you will learn and be led down the right path.

This may seem insignificant, but in a culture that breeds fomo, influencers, competition, and attention seeking it becomes harder and harder for us to detach ourselves and find what works for us. That thing that someone is trying to teach you probably won’t work for you.

Start doing something and just keep going. It led to an amazing life for Forrest Gump, yes, even if it is fictional. Many of us can end up living fairytale lives!