• Indiependent
  • Posts
  • Everyone is obsessed with growth and discoverability

Everyone is obsessed with growth and discoverability

Yet the most successful marketeer never pays attention to his stats.

Seth Godin is doing the rounds on podcasts as his new book, The Song of Significance, has just been released.

It’s funny because I feel like Seth has almost been following my journey. I consumed all his books in the early days. His books were the first real books I got into. I never really read anything properly before then.

I discovered community building and then I discovered him, and the two seemed to collide perfectly. First it was his refreshing purple cow and marketing approach.

He then started writing about what I was doing in my world. Namely community and then about the indoctrination of the schooling system. All of these things interweave into his current Song of Significance book too.

It’s all connected: Marketing. Community. Self-directed education. Indiependent living.

Him. Me. Basically, on the same page.

But one thing I love and always appreciate about him is how he focuses on doing the work. He shows up and publishes every day.

He doesn’t:

  • worry about the latest tech (changing tech often slows us down)

  • check stats or subscribers

  • use social media

  • worry about the latest growth hack

He’s started many businesses along the way and hasn’t been afraid to move on from them when the time is right. He avoids all those distractions to enable him a good 7-8 hours a day of meaningful and productive work.

People look on in amazement and admiration but often fail to see the simplicity of his growth and discoverability.

Do the work. Make sure you believe in it and don’t get distracted. A purple cow may help too.