• Indiependent
  • Posts
  • Over engineering the internet and why newsletters are the dumbest

Over engineering the internet and why newsletters are the dumbest

She says as she sends you daily emails, yup! Go me!

Dammit, I wish newsletters weren’t so popular.

I hate subscribing and receiving them.

My inbox is a mess, no matter how much I try.

I’ve lost too many hours of my life to staying organised.

Privacy matters. Sometimes, I don’t want people to know I’ve subscribed!

It’s inefficient as heck.

Every email costs the environment. That’s a great reason to unsubscribe and change our habits.

I forever feel guilty for not reading or actioning my inbox.

We waste time admiring or stressing about our growth chart.

And then, we invest even more time into workflows and automation.

Do we suffer from over-engineering our apparent problems?

Sometimes I feel like we’ll look back on our lives and ask ourselves why we over-engineered all of this.

The written word is amazing. It’s my preferred format.

But as a user, I want it on my terms.

And to easily search and explore for problems I need answers to today.

Good content. On-demand. In a location where I can go and search for it. And with an RSS feed.

Don’t forget the RSS feed, please! I shed a tear every time a website doesn’t support RSS.

And on that note, why not subscribe to these posts via RSS?